The last time I wrote about NX Domains, it was because I noticed that Rogers wireless was hijacking them on my phone. Now, it appears that Shaw Cable is doing the same.
I use OpenDNS, so I’m used to search pages coming up when I mistype URLs, however that is something I’d opt’ed in to. You can imagine my surprise when, after mistyping a URL, I was directed to this instead:
http://assist.shaw.ca/shawcaassist/dnsassist/main/?domain=www.example.com
(original URL redacted).
It appears that, even if you aren’t using Shaw’s DNS servers they are still checking your DNS requests and, in the case of NX domains (at least – they could technically do this for any traffic), hijacking the result and forwarding your browser to their page instead.
I’ve sent a barrage of messages to Shaw’s PR team on Twitter, but haven’t had a response yet. I’ll update this article when (or if) they reply.
For the time being, though, it appears you can opt-out of the ‘service’ using this page: http://nxr.shaw.ca/optout/
Update: I’ve had a reply from Shaw saying “We do not modify any DNS traffic going to our customers from other sources”. They’re currently looking in to the issue apparently, so another update will be in order when I hear back.
Additional Update: I received a reply from Shaw asking me to do some further troubleshooting, all of which would have been useless (eg, using the ‘dig’ and ‘nslookup’ commands to confirm my DNS settings and what the NX response was), however as I opted out of the ‘service’ I can’t actually complete the steps as everything is working correctly. Additionally, there doesn’t appear to be a way to opt back in to the ‘service’, so that’s also a bust. I guess I won’t be getting an answer as to what happened. Also, I was linked on Reddit Canada.


